Roasted Italian Plums with Pistachios

Photography by Angie Norwood Browne

 

Roasted Italian Plums with Pistachios

 

½ cup water

½ cup sugar

2 star anise pods

4 cardamom pods, crushed

1 handfull rosemary

4 lbs Italian plums, halved lengthwise and pitted

½ cup ground pistachios

 

Combine sugar and water in a small saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring until sugar dissolves. Stir in star anise, and crushed cardamom pods. Bring mixture to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Simmer for 15 minutes to form a syrup.

 

Preheat oven to 450°.

 

Place plums flesh side up in a shallow roasting pan and pour syrup over plums. Roast 20-25 minutes. Sprinkle with rosemary, and ground pistachios. Serve with Greek yogurt or ice cream.

 

Recipe and Food Styling by Theresa Gilliam

 

About anbphoto

I never thought I'd start a blog because I'm not a writer. I am a Southern Catholic girl, a commercial food Photographer and an avid gardener. I have always wanted to journal my garden; growing food (fruit, herbs and vegetables), photographing ingredients from earth to plate and sharing the recipes I love. Someone suggested that I forget about all the writing and simply share my photographs and recipes. Perfect! My blog is an exploration of home gardening and cooking, so here is a little history of me and how "Stray Cats and Blackberries" came about. Born and raised in Alabama, my love for food lies in Southern cuisine. I learned early on that life is a party revolving around friends and family sharing food and wine. Backyard Summer bbqs, black eyed peas and collard greens on New Year's Day or ham and chocolate on Easter are just a few favorite Southern traditions I love sharing. I became fascinated with gardening when my husband and I bought our first house. I am a mother, a wife and someone who appreciates the little treasures and traditions in life. My garden started as an empty parking lot behind a Mom & Pop grocery store that my husband and I bought and renovated into a photography studio. While my husband put on his carpenter pants I put on my gardening gloves. Thirteen dumpsters at three tons each and nearly three years later I had a plantable space to sew seeds. I have been a food photographer and gardener for over 20 years and love the idea of merging my passions by growing food, photographing my harvest and sharing recipes with you. Enjoy

3 comments

  1. Dorothee Brand

    Yummy and gorgeous

    On Mon, Aug 18, 2014 at 11:39 AM, STRAY CATS AND BLACKBERRIES wrote:

    > anbphoto posted: “Photography by Angie Norwood Browne Roasted > Italian Plums with Pistachios ½ cup water ½ cup sugar 2 star anise pods 4 > cardamom pods, crushed 1 handfull rosemary 4 lbs Italian plums, halved > lengthwise and pitted”

  2. Linn Caine

    Lovely photos, as usual. I’ll be over to pick mine. This recipe sounds delightful.

Leave a Reply

