Roasted Pork with Baked Apples

ROASTED PORK WITH BAKED APPLES

Photography by Angie Norwood Browne

ANBP_121114_EMI_PlatedPork_23

ANBP_121114_EMI_Romanesco_1091ANBP_121114_EMI_BakedApples_10ANBP_121114_EMI_PorkApples_07ANBP_121114_EMI_Apple_1090 ANBP_121114_EMI_Apple_1088

Roasted pork with baked apples

2 lb pork roast, trussed with twine.

1 onion, cut into long cut

2 tablespoons oil

1 ½ cups chicken stock

1 cup apple juice/apple cider

1 cup beer

3 apples, washed and cored.

1.     Preheat an oven to 350 deg F.

2.     heat the oil in a dutch oven, and sear the pork roast on all sides so the outside is golden brown and the moisture is sealed in (don’t forget the ends!).

3.     remove the meat from the pot, and add the onions.  Cook until they are soft, but not too brown.

4.     Add the stock, cider and beer to the pot and let the liquid reduce a little (not too much).

5.     Use a roasting rack, or make a “donut” out of aluminum foil to lift the meat up out of the liquid, and place the apples around the roast.

6.     Bake in the oven for 1 – 2 hours (depends on size of the roast), keep checking the temperature of the pork after 1 hour.  Remove from the oven when the internal temperature of the pork is between 145 and 150 degrees F.

7.     Let the pork rest outside of the dutch oven.

8.     The apples will have kind of “exploded” the pulp into the sauce.  Use this and mix it in to thicken up the sauce.  If it is too syrup-y, add more apple cider and mix in.

Baked Apples

4 Apples

2 tablespoons of butter

1.     Preheat the oven to 400 deg F.

2.     Wash and core the apples.  The best way to core the apples is to scoop out the core from the bottom using a melon-baller. (this method keeps the stem intact).

3.     Push a little bit of butter into the empty core of the apples and place the apples in a baking dish.

4.     Bake, uncovered, for 20 minutes, or until they feel soft and the skin is a little wrinkled.

5.     Remove from the oven and serve warm, sliced in half vertically..

Roasted Romanesco Cauliflower

1 head of Romanesco Cauliflower

Olive oil, as needed

Salt, to taste

1.     Preheat the oven to 400 deg F.

2.     Half or quarter each floret of cauliflower (depending on size).

3.     Toss with a little olive oil (just a little – don’t put too much on or they will get soggy and greasy).  Sprinkle the florets with a little salt, and place in a roasting pan.

4.     Roast for 20 minutes or so, depending on the size of the florets.  Toss a few times while they are roasting.  There should be a little brown on the edges and tips, but the bright green should still be visible.

5.     Serve warm.

Recipe and food styling by Emily Browne

About anbphoto

I never thought I'd start a blog because I'm not a writer. I am a Southern Catholic girl, a commercial food Photographer and an avid gardener. I have always wanted to journal my garden; growing food (fruit, herbs and vegetables), photographing ingredients from earth to plate and sharing the recipes I love. Someone suggested that I forget about all the writing and simply share my photographs and recipes. Perfect! My blog is an exploration of home gardening and cooking, so here is a little history of me and how "Stray Cats and Blackberries" came about. Born and raised in Alabama, my love for food lies in Southern cuisine. I learned early on that life is a party revolving around friends and family sharing food and wine. Backyard Summer bbqs, black eyed peas and collard greens on New Year's Day or ham and chocolate on Easter are just a few favorite Southern traditions I love sharing. I became fascinated with gardening when my husband and I bought our first house. I am a mother, a wife and someone who appreciates the little treasures and traditions in life. My garden started as an empty parking lot behind a Mom & Pop grocery store that my husband and I bought and renovated into a photography studio. While my husband put on his carpenter pants I put on my gardening gloves. Thirteen dumpsters at three tons each and nearly three years later I had a plantable space to sew seeds. I have been a food photographer and gardener for over 20 years and love the idea of merging my passions by growing food, photographing my harvest and sharing recipes with you. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

