Red Beans and Rice with Herb Corn Bread and Bacon Butter

RED BEANS AND RICE WITH HERB CORNBREAD AND BACON BUTTER

My favorite Southern recipe for a big crowed.

Photography by Angie Norwood Browne

Red Beans and Rice

RED BEANS AND RICE

ingredients:

  • 1 lb dried red beans, rinsed and sorted over
  • 1/2 lb bacon
  • 1/4 cup chopped pancetta
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped yellow onions
  • 3/4 cup chopped celery
  • 3/4 cup chopped red bell peppers
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • Pinch cayenne
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 teaspoons fresh thyme
  • 1/2 pound Andouille sausage
  • 1 pound smoked ham hocks
  • 3 tablespoons chopped garlic
  • 10 cups chicken stock, or water
  • 4 cups cooked white rice
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions, garnish

Place the beans in a large bowl or pot and cover with water by 2 inches. Let soak for 8 hours or overnight. Drain and set aside.

In a large pot, add bacon cook then drain grease. Add pancetta and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add the onions, celery and bell peppers to the grease in the pot. Season with the salt, pepper, and cayenne, and cook, stirring, until the vegetables are soft, about 4 minutes. Add the bay leaves, parsley, thyme, sausage, and ham hocks, and cook, stirring, to brown the sausage and ham hocks, about 4 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the beans and stock or water, stir well, and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the beans are tender and starting to thicken, about 2 hours.

Serve over rice and garnish with green onions.

HERB CORN BREAD

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup cornmeal ( white or yellow)

1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar

1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground pepper

1 large shallot finely chopped

3/4 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels

1/3 cup finely chopped fresh thyme

1/4 cup finely chopped fresh sage

2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh Italian parsley

1 cup half and Half

2 large eggs

1 stick unsalted butter

Preheat oven 350 degrees and position an oven rack in the center. Lightly coat on iron skillet with butter or canal oil. In medium bowl, whisk flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, salt and pepper, blend well. Add shallot, corn kernels, thyme, sage, and parsley. Whisk to blend everything thoroughly.

In second bowl whisk together the half and half and eggs. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the egg mixture into the well, then add the melted butter.

Use whisk to gently combine the ingredients, stirring until there are no patches of egg or flour.

Use a spatula to scrape the batter into pan. Bake 40 to 50 minutes,until center of the bread feels firm.

BACON BUTTER

1/2 cup (1 stick butter), softened

2 tablespoons honey

2 slices crispy cooked bacon, crumbled

Mix ingredients in food processor until well combined.

The corn bread is from the Art and Soul of Baking.

Food Styling and Recipe by Theresa Gilliam

About anbphoto

I never thought I'd start a blog because I'm not a writer. I am a Southern Catholic girl, a commercial food Photographer and an avid gardener. I have always wanted to journal my garden; growing food (fruit, herbs and vegetables), photographing ingredients from earth to plate and sharing the recipes I love. Someone suggested that I forget about all the writing and simply share my photographs and recipes. Perfect! My blog is an exploration of home gardening and cooking, so here is a little history of me and how "Stray Cats and Blackberries" came about. Born and raised in Alabama, my love for food lies in Southern cuisine. I learned early on that life is a party revolving around friends and family sharing food and wine. Backyard Summer bbqs, black eyed peas and collard greens on New Year's Day or ham and chocolate on Easter are just a few favorite Southern traditions I love sharing. I became fascinated with gardening when my husband and I bought our first house. I am a mother, a wife and someone who appreciates the little treasures and traditions in life. My garden started as an empty parking lot behind a Mom & Pop grocery store that my husband and I bought and renovated into a photography studio. While my husband put on his carpenter pants I put on my gardening gloves. Thirteen dumpsters at three tons each and nearly three years later I had a plantable space to sew seeds. I have been a food photographer and gardener for over 20 years and love the idea of merging my passions by growing food, photographing my harvest and sharing recipes with you. Enjoy

2 comments

  1. my goodness that looks good! Will have to try!

  2. I love the photos with this recipe.

Leave a Reply

